The Jukai

Jukai is a formal an ancient ceremony for taking refugee in the Buddha and receiving the Buddhist lay percepts. You don’t have to be a buddhist and you will not become a buddhist by participating in the ritual. On Koyasan the Jukai is performed within the system of the Shingon Buddhism, following the last will of the founder Kobo Daishi Kukai:

“Among the ten wholesome percepts, three concern the body, for concern speech and three the mind. These ten are the branches and the one-mind is the root. The essence of the one-mind is not different from the Buddha. Abiding in this mind is called cultivating the path of the Buddha”

The original form of this ceremony goes back 2500 years and has a 1200 year old tradition in Japan. (Note: This is a very free abstract of the handout of the temple).

The ritual three steps: First, to acknowledge past transgressions. Second, taking refuge in the Triple Jewel of Buddhism. Third, receiving and repeating the ten wholesome percepts. Each step has three aspects: the body, the speach and the mind. Also the 10 percepts are following this trinity. The first three percpts are for the body, the next four are for the speech and the last three are for the mind.

Step 1: Repentance

san ge mon
ga shaku sho zoo sho aku koo
kai yu mu shi ton jin chi
juu shin go i shi sho joo
issai ga kon kai san ge

All of the unskillful actions I have committed in the past,
caused by my greed, hatred and ignorance through beginningless time,
have become about though the actions of my body, speech and mind:
I now repent them all

Step 2: Triple Refuge and confirmation

san ki
de shi mu koo jin mi rai sai (From this day forward to the end of time:)ki e bustu (I take refuge in th Buddha,)
ki e hoo (I take refuge in the Dharma,)
ki e soo (I take refuge in the Sangha.)

san kyoo
de shi mu koo jin mi rai sai (From this day forward to the end of time:)
ki e bukkyoo (I have taken refuge in the Buddha,)
ki e hoo kyoo (I  have taken refuge in the Dharma,)
ki e soo kyoo (I have taken refuge in the Sangha.)

Step 3: The ten wholesome percepts

juu zen kai
de shi mu koo jin mi rai sai (From this day forward to the end of time:)

fu sessho (I will not kill or harm any living beings.)
fu chuu too (I will not take what is not given to me.)
fu ja in (I will not engage in harmful sexual conduct.)

fu moo go (I will not lie.)
fu ki go (I will not speak improperly.)
fu akku (I will not speak harshly.)
fu ryoo zetsu (I will not speak divisively.)

fu ken don (I will not be covetous.)
fu shin ni (I will not have ill will.)
fu ja ken (I will not hold wrong views.)

End of the ritual

The ritual ends with reciting some mantras and final words. This part is not repeated by the participants.

hotsu bo dai shin shin gon   (On boojishitta bodahadayami.)
san ma ya kai shin sgon  (On sanmaya satoban.)
koo kyoo shin gon (On abokya beiroshanoo makabodara mani handoma jinbara harabaritya un).

Negawakuwa kono kudoku o motte amaneku issai ni oyoboshi, warera to shujoo mina tomo ni butsudoo o joozen (May these merits be extended universally to all beings, so that all may equally awaken to the Buddha’s path.)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

5 Reisen – 5 Ideen

%d bloggers like this: